Monday, February 2, 2015
Rugby League News


Debate: Who should be England’s starting full-back?


Joe Whitley (JW): Jamie Peacock said in an interview this week that he believes Zak Hardaker is a better full-back, defensively at least, than anyone on the planet. Castleford coach Daryl Powell was also full of praise for the Rhinos star and even said he is going to be pressuring Sam Tomkins for England’s number one shirt. If you ask ... Read More »

If Steve McNamara had to pick the England team today


If you were the England boss, and you were asked to pick a side today, completely based on form and without any bias, who would you select? Here’s who I would go for along with reasons why and a back-up choice for each position. I’ve compiled my list using official Super League statistics and League Express reports from every Super ... Read More »

Match report: Samoa 32-16 Fiji


In a nutshell Penani Manumalealii of the Cronulla Sharks scored a hat-trick of tries as the Samoans qualified for this season’s Four Nations tournament by beating Fiji in he Pacific Test at Penrith’s SportingBet Stadium in front of 9,063 spectators. How it unfolded The Samoans too the lead after 13 minutes when Manumalealii scored his first try. Krisnan Inu added ... Read More »

Nigel Wood officially new RLIF chairman

Nigel Wood

As we correctly reported last week, the Rugby League International Federation (RLIF) has today announced that it has appointed Nigel Wood as its new chairman. Wood, also the Chief Executive of the Rugby Football League and Super League, succeeds New Zealander Scott Carter. His appointment was confirmed at the RLIF’s annual meeting in Sydney, where Australian Rugby League Commission Chief ... Read More »

Anzac Test match report: Australia 30-18 New Zealand


In a nutshell Australia came from behind to overpower a valiant Kiwi side and win the Anzac Test. How it unfolded 6’ – Jess Bromwich forces his way over after a great start from the Kiwis. Shaun Johnson’s kicking game has peppered Billy Slater in the early stages and New Zealand definitely deserve this score. From a few metres left ... Read More »

Rugby League unites Russia and Ukraine


The Russian and Ukrainian Rugby Leagues will demonstrate their close ties when Ukraine travels to the Moscow region for the host’s opening game of the 2014-15 European Championship B. Russian federation (ARLK) president Edgard Taturyan was keen to point out the friendly relations that have always existed with their southerly neighbours. “Russian teams have had several games against our Ukrainian ... Read More »

Inglis chasing down Slater for full-back spot

Greg Inglis (left) and Billy Slater (right) are two of Australia's greatest ever players.

Reports are emerging Down Under that South Sydney star Greg Inglis will replace Melbourne’s Billy Slater at full-back for Australia if the latter doesn’t put in a good performance on Friday night, when the Kangaroos take on New Zealand. Inglis has enjoyed a blistering start to the season, characterised by a superb 90-metre try against Brisbane Broncos last week. Slater, ... Read More »

Nigel Wood to head international board

It's thirsty work visiting beautiful islands in the Pacific

RFL chief executive Nigel Wood is in line to become the new Chairman of the Rugby League International Federation, when its executive meets in Sydney this weekend. The meeting will coincide with Test Matches between Australia and New Zealand, and Fiji and Samoa. The position has become vacant because the RLIF’s current Chairman, Scott Carter, who is also the Chairman ... Read More »

New Zealand name Anzac Test squad


New Zealand have named their squad to face Australia in this Friday’s Anzac Test match, which is to be played at Sydney’s Allianz Stadium. In contrast to the Kangaroos, who have named a squad packed with experience, the Kiwis have gone for six rookies, including former Wakefield Trinity Wildcats star Isaac John, who now plays for Penrith Panthers and former ... Read More »

Fiji and Samoa announce Pacific Test squads

Samoa taking on Fiji at RLWC2013. ©RLPhotos

Fiji and Samoa have named their squads for Saturday’s Pacific Test against Toa Samoa at Sportingbet Stadium in Penrith. The winner of that game will take part in the Four Nations tournament in October and November. FIJI: Waqa Blake (Penrith Panthers), Peni Botiki, (Cutters), Jason Bukuya, (NZ Warriors), Regan Cambell-Gillard (Penrith Panthers), Kane Evans (Sydney Roosters), Aaron Groom (Asquith), Marika ... Read More »