Tuesday, January 27, 2015
Rugby League News

World Cup

Wales name team for RLWC opener

Wales head coach Iestyn Harris has named his 19 man squad to play Italy at Millennium Stadium on Saturday (16:30) Neil Budworth Ross Divorty Gil Dudson Jacob Emmitt Ben Evans Rhys Evans Ben Flower Tyson Frizell Jordan James Elliott Kear Craig Kopczak (C) Rhodri Lloyd Peter Lupton Larne Patrick Matt Seamark Anthony Walker Ian Webster Lloyd White Rhys Williams Read More »

England name squad to face Australia in RLWC2013 opener

England have named a 19-man squad for Saturday’s opening Rugby League World Cup 2013 Group A match against Australia at Millennium Stadium, Cardiff (2.30pm). Coach Steve McNamara has added four uncapped players, including twin brothers George and Thomas Burgess. Huddersfield Giants forward Brett Ferres, who was drafted into the England World Cup squad earlier this week, is named alongside Wigan ... Read More »

Burrow believes inside knowledge is key for England

Rob Burrow insists England are fully focused on shooting down Rugby League World Cup 2013 favourites Australia when the two nations meet in Cardiff on Saturday. Rugby League’s greatest rivals kick-off the 14-nation tournament beneath the closed roof of the Millennium Stadium at 2.30pm when Burrow hopes inside knowledge could be the key for England. Five of England 24-man squad ... Read More »

Italy name team for Wales match

Italy head coach Carlo Napolitano has named his 19 man squad to play Wales at Millennium Stadium on Saturday (16:30) 1. Anthony Minichiello (C) 2. Joshua Mantellato 3. James Tedesco 4. Aiden Guerra 5. Chris Centrone 6. Ben Falcone 7. Ryan Ghietti 8. Anthony Laffranchi 9. Dean Parata 10. Paul Vaughan 11. Mark Minichiello 12. Cameron Ciraldo 13. Joel Riethmuller ... Read More »

Australia name team for England match

Australia head coach Tim Sheens has named his 19 man squad to play England at Millenium Stadium on Saturday (14:30) 1. Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm) 2. Brett Morris (St George Illawarra Dragons) 3. Brent Tate (North Queensland Cowboys) 4. Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs) 5. Darius Boyd (Newcastle Knights) 6. Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys) 7. Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm) ... Read More »

Roby insists England are ready for Kangaroo challenge

England will kick off Rugby League World Cup 2013 against arch-rivals Australia at the Millennium Stadium on Saturday (2.30pm), and hooker James Roby says there is no better team for them to face following their defeat to Italy. Steve McNamara’s side are looking to bounce back from their surprise 15-14 reverse, and Roby is looking to prove it was a ... Read More »

England drop Hock

England Rugby League have issued the following statement regarding the sudden exit of Gareth Hock from their World Cup squad. “As a result of serious breaches of team discipline that have fallen below the strict code of conduct as agreed by team management, Gareth Hock has been withdrawn from the England Rugby League World Cup squad with immediate effect. He ... Read More »

Ban rules Samoa player out of Kiwi clash

Tim Lafai of Samoa and England Knights players Brad Singleton have each been suspended for one match by an International Match Review Panel following an incident in the Rugby League World Cup 2013 warm-up fixture at Salford last Saturday. Both players accepted the punishment handed down by the specially-convened panel for punching in the 38th minute of the match. The ... Read More »

Sims follows in sister’s footsteps

FIJIAN brothers Ashton, Tariq and Korbin Sims are hoping that it’s their family name that is remembered from the World Cup rather than that of any other set of brothers involved. And the youngest of that trio, Korbin, made a good start with an impressive display in the pre-tournament warm-up against Rochdale including a genuine hat-trick in the opening ten ... Read More »

RLWC2013 match officials appointed

Rugby League World Cup 2013 organisers have confirmed the match officials for all of the group games. The Match Officials Appointments Panel consists of David Waite (Chairman), Daniel Anderson and Stuart Cummings. The match officials appointed by the Match Officials Appointments Panel are: From England: Phil Bentham, Richard Silverwood, Ben Thaler; James Child, Joe Cobb, Mark Craven, Robert Hicks, Chris ... Read More »