Jump to content





Photo
- - - - -

Forum or user problem?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 funkmaster flex

funkmaster flex
  • Coach
  • 599 posts

Posted 31 December 2012 - 06:43 PM

When I click on the link for the google search 'Dewsbury Rams Fans' about 50% of the time I get directed to the following page:


Posted Image

This happens in both Chrome and Firefox.

Is it something I'm doing or a known issue?

Living life and loving every second

http://www.summerhol.com


#2 Blind side johnny

Blind side johnny
  • Coach
  • 9,719 posts

Posted 31 December 2012 - 07:26 PM

When I click on the link for the google search 'Dewsbury Rams Fans' about 50% of the time I get directed to the following page:


Posted Image

This happens in both Chrome and Firefox.

Is it something I'm doing or a known issue?



It's a scam and would be blocked if you had a good web site blocker/checker. Free ones won't detect this type of attempted interception. If you were to click on this anywhere, such as the "need help?" button you would likely become contaminated with a virus/trojan.

You need to run a full virus check on your hard drive with one of the proprietary agents.

HTH
Believe what you see, don't see what you believe.


John Ray (1627 - 1705)

#3 funkmaster flex

funkmaster flex
  • Coach
  • 599 posts

Posted 01 January 2013 - 09:20 AM

Thanks BSJ will put your advice into action :)

Living life and loving every second

http://www.summerhol.com


#4 Tom Coates

Tom Coates
  • Moderator
  • 1,146 posts

Posted 02 January 2013 - 04:00 PM

Any luck, FF?

I've checked with the site webmaster and this does sound like a 'local' problem.

#5 Blind side johnny

Blind side johnny
  • Coach
  • 9,719 posts

Posted 02 January 2013 - 07:07 PM

Anything offering prizes if you click on the button is inherently suspicious. Never ever click on it, even if it says "click here to ignore/delete" or similar.
Believe what you see, don't see what you believe.


John Ray (1627 - 1705)

#6 Gav Wilson

Gav Wilson
  • Coach
  • 3,307 posts

Posted 02 January 2013 - 07:24 PM

I know what your problem is.



You're using Windows...

;)
Posted Image

#7 funkmaster flex

funkmaster flex
  • Coach
  • 599 posts

Posted 02 January 2013 - 08:34 PM

All sorted thanks. Did loads of 'under the hood' stuff and not had the issue since.

Odd that it only happened with this forum :/ but thanks for the help.

Living life and loving every second

http://www.summerhol.com


#8 NickD

NickD
  • Coach
  • 1,126 posts

Posted 02 January 2013 - 08:37 PM

All sorted thanks. Did loads of 'under the hood' stuff and not had the issue since.

Odd that it only happened with this forum :/ but thanks for the help.

Happens to me every time, but only when using the iPad, so not a windows issue.

#9 Blind side johnny

Blind side johnny
  • Coach
  • 9,719 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 10:38 AM

Happens to me every time, but only when using the iPad, so not a windows issue.


Do you have a virus checker on your iPad?

Its surprising how many people don't!!
Believe what you see, don't see what you believe.


John Ray (1627 - 1705)

#10 RogerTRam

RogerTRam
  • Coach
  • 219 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 02:08 PM

Looks like a redirect exploit. Most are caused by rogue cookies or crud downloaded into your temp folders. Using a well know brand virus / malwares blocker would clear it up. Also be aware many free apps and items of software marketed as freeware are frequently supported by malware add-ons. Never use the recommended or automatic settings when installing software from a dubious source as it hides the fact that it’s installing pop up ad clients and browsers bars. Most things have a custom setting that allows you to turn them off before they are installed. Another place where you can get infected are those annoying web sites that lock up and won’t allow you to leave until you have clicked on a button. Frequently this button is a hidden link to an malware installer. Lastly if you visit a web site that pops up and says you have faults or viruses on your system and “click here” to run a scan or install virus removal software never do so it’s a scam.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users