By playing SOO, he has to sign something stating his eligibility for Australia. Under the new rules (as I understand them), he is not allowed to declare for another country for 2 more years so can't represent Scotland at the World Cup.
It's one of the reasons why Minichiello didn't want to play for NSW this year (not sure if he was formally asked) - he wants to play for Italy.
these "rules" are ARLC rules...not RLIF rules...
Mcmanus is well within his rights under RLIF laws to play for NSW then play for scotland....as is anyone that plays state of origin....it means sod all to the RLIF....and no one is bound into australia for 2 years just cos they played origin or city v country..
Edited by roughyedspud, 15 July 2013 - 05:16 AM.