Jump to content

RUGBY LEAGUE WORLD MAGAZINE (ISSUE 397 - MAY 2014): Available to download now. Get the app from Apple Newsstand or GooglePlay, or click here to read it online now at Pocketmags.com - Print edition in shops from Friday, or click here to get it delivered by post in the UK or worldwide.

Rugby League World - April 2014
League Express


- - - - -

Greek Rugby League holds historic awards night

  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Honor James

Honor James
  • Coach
  • 1,169 posts

Posted 30 January 2014 - 01:29 PM

Giorgin Shyti has been awarded the Player of the Year trophy by the Hellenic Federation of Rugby League, at a ceremony in Athens to commemorate the completion of their inaugural domestic season.

The event, presented by players Philippos Kastrinos and George Paliogiannis, was attended by over 100 guests, together with the Deputy Mayor for Sports for the municipality of Nikaea-Rendis (Pireaus), Mr Nikolakis and club presidents.  HFRL President, Tasos Pantazidis, outlined planned growth for the competition for the next two years, which will see an expansion to the domestic championship and a development programme for junior and youth players.

The board of Directors of the Federation made the following awards:
Player of the Year 2013: Giorgin Shyti
Team spirit: George-James Stilianos
Coach of the Year: Matthew–Alan Ashill
Referee of the Year: Konstantinos Fytas
Player most improved: Konstantinos Asprogerakas
Award for the decisive contibution to the establishment of the Hellenic Rugby League: Anastasios Pantazidis
Champions 2013: Promitheas Rendi
9’s Cup winners: Rhodes Knights

And those domestic players who took part in the ground-breaking, international win over Hungary, namely: Iordanis Bilikaidis, Giorgin Shyti, George-James Stilianos, Kostantinos Lambrakis, Panagiotis Karefilis, Dimitrios Minadakis, Ioannis Nake and Mihalis Chatziioannou, were given special presentations.

"If we wish to free ourselves from enslavement, we must choose freedom and the responsibility this entails." Leo Buscaglia

#2 EdinburghExile

  • Coach
  • 492 posts

Posted 30 January 2014 - 01:50 PM

Shyti by name, but actually quite a good player by nature. :pickeat:

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users