Retirement

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 GeordieSaint

GeordieSaint
  • Coach
  • 5,048 posts

Posted 20 July 2014 - 04:16 PM

I officially retired from playing the great game of Rugby League at the grand old age of 33 this weekend. Unfortunately got cleaned out playing in the East 9s earlier this season and been suffering from neck and back injuries since; not worth risking my health and career continuing to play the game.

That said since having played the game since the age of 7, I've had some wonderful experiences and met some great folk at clubs across the country. I've played for Pilkington Recs, Newcastle University, Northeast Students, Northallerton Stallions, and Kings Lynn Black Knights plus individual matches for Gosport Vikings, Leeds Akkies, Hemel Stags and RMA Sandhurst. Great memories!

Eventually I'll get into coaching when settled somewhere in the UK but wondered when everyone else retired, at what age and who you used to play for?

Kings Lynn Black Knights Rugby League Club - http://www.pitchero....nnblackknights/

#2 terrywebbisgod

terrywebbisgod
  • Coach
  • 8,600 posts

Posted 20 July 2014 - 04:19 PM

You could try your hand at masters rugby.(In a couple of years).Serious knee injury curtailed my career in my mind 20's,only played for 2 clubs,East Leeds and Leeds Colts.

Edited by terrywebbisgod, 20 July 2014 - 04:21 PM.

Cannibal chiefs chew Camembert cheese,cos chewing keeps them cheeky.

#3 l'angelo mysterioso

l'angelo mysterioso
  • Coach
  • 42,263 posts

Posted 20 July 2014 - 04:34 PM

I officially retired from playing the great game of Rugby League at the grand old age of 33 this weekend. Unfortunately got cleaned out playing in the East 9s earlier this season and been suffering from neck and back injuries since; not worth risking my health and career continuing to play the game.