Sign in to follow this  
Honor James

England 2013 Academy and Youth squads named

Recommended Posts

England Academy and Youth coach Dave Elliott has named his respective 24 and 31-man training squads for the 2013 season.

Eight of the players who featured in England Academy’s 2012 tour of Australia, when the side recorded victories over New South Wales Juniors and Parramatta Juniors before falling to successive defeats to the Australian Schoolboys, return to the squad for 2013 with Wigan Warriors quintet George Williams, Joe Burgess, Lewis Tierney, Ryan Hampshire and Ryan Sutton joining St Helens forward Luke Thompson and Leeds Rhinos duo Liam Sutcliffe and Jordan Baldwinson.

Wigan have a sixth representative in the squad, the most out of all clubs, in the form of Rob Lever, while Leeds (two) and St Helens (one) also have further inclusions in the 24-man squad. Bradford Bulls have five players in the Academy squad, including first-team squad members Curtis Naughton and Oliver Roberts, with West Yorkshire neighbours Huddersfield Giants represented with three players in the squad. Players from Warrington Wolves (two), Hull FC (one) and Salford City Reds (one) complete the Academy line-up.

“We learnt a lot about our players during the 2012 season, with both age groups playing tough games against France and the Academy getting the experience of touring in Australia, and I’m looking forward to continuing that progression and helping these young players further develop in 2013,” said Elliott. “There are some very talented players in the Academy squad and also some experienced heads at that level with a lot of the squads having been involved during 2012, but there are also a lot of talented youngsters on the fringes of the squad and that highlights the strength of the players coming through the system at the moment. The players who haven’t been selected at this stage will be closely monitored throughout the year and those that perform consistently well for their club could still feature in the England system this season – it certainly isn’t a closed shop.

"The big thing for us is to see how these players cope in an England environment having performed well for their clubs during the season. There is a direct pathway to the England senior side and these lads can see clearly the steps they need to take to progress towards Steve McNamara’s squad. We’re working hard to try and give the players the tools to better themselves and best prepare them to make that step up through the ranks. In 2013 both the Academy and Youth squads will take on their French counterparts, with the Youth side also playing Wales, and we know that all those games will be very physical and demanding, but we’re relishing the challenge ahead and hopefully we can record some good results.”

The England Youth squad is dominated by Wigan and Leeds, with the 2012 Super League League Leaders and Grand Final winners providing six players and five players respectively.

St Helens and Hull FC both have four representatives in the squad while Huddersfield Giants and 2012 Challenge Cup winners Warrington Wolves provide three players each. Wakefield Trinity Wildcats and London Broncos both have two players in the squad with lone representatives from Castleford Tigers and Widnes Vikings completing the squad.

“The Youth squad includes a lot of young players who are coming into the international environment for the first time and that makes it a very exciting group of players for us to work with as we are constantly challenged to ensure we make it as interesting for the players as we can,” said Elliott. “It’s very rewarding for myself and the other coaches to have the opportunity to work with these young professionals and it makes me very proud to watch these players progress through the ranks and hopefully we can continue to help these youngsters develop and achieve their aims of playing at Super League level.”

The 2013 squads in full are:

England Academy 24-man squad (Professional and community clubs)

Alex Mellor (Bradford Bulls, Castleford Panthers)

Bobby Tyson Wilson (Hull FC, West Hull)

Curtis Naughton (Bradford Bulls, Dewsbury Celtic)

Edwin Okanga Ajwang (Salford City Reds, Siddal)

Elliott Morris (Huddersfield Giants, Meltham)

George Williams (Wigan Warriors, Ince Rose Bridge)

Greg Richards (St Helens, Barrow Island)

Jack Miller (Huddersfield Giants, Smallthorne Panthers)

Jake Connor (Huddersfield Giants, Siddal)

Joe Burgess (Wigan Warriors, Ince Rose Bridge)

Jordan Baldwinson (Leeds Rhinos, Hunslet Warriors)

Jordan Burns (Warrington Wolves, Kells ARLFC)

Jordan Harper (Leeds Rhinos, Normanton Knights)

Josh Casey (Bradford Bulls, Siddal)

Lewis Tierney (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Pats)

Liam Sutcliffe (Leeds Rhinos, Hunslet Warriors)

Luke Thompson (St Helens, Pilkington Recs)

Nathan Conroy (Bradford Bulls, Bradford Dudley Hill)

Oliver Roberts (Bradford Bulls, Siddal)

Rob Lever (Wigan Warriors, Pilkington Recs)

Rob Mulhern (Leeds Rhinos, Castleford Panthers)

Ryan Hampshire (Wigan Warriors, Normanton Knights)

Ryan Sutton (Wigan Warriors, Wigan St Pats)

Tom Walker (Warrington Wolves, Broughton Red Rose)

England Youth 31-man squad (Professional and community clubs)

Aaron Smith (St Helens, Blackbrook)

Ash Goulding (Leeds Rhinos, Stanningley)

Brad Harrison (Hull FC, Skirlaugh Bulls)

Brad Parker (Hull FC, East Hull)

Charlie Pythian (Warrington Wolves, Latchford Albion)

Daniel Douglas (Leeds Rhinos, Drighlington)

Frazer Morris (Huddersfield Giants, St Josephs Sharks)

Harry Tyson Wilson (Hull FC, West Hull)

Harvey Livett (Warrington Wolves, Rylands Sharks)

Issac Noi (Wigan Warriors, Ince Rose Bridge)

Jack Etchells (Wigan Warriors, Oldham St Annes)

Jack Rush (Wigan Warriors, Rochdale Mayfield)

Jack Wells (Wigan Warriors, Folly Lane)

Jacob Ware (Leeds Rhinos, Westgate Wolves)

Jake Campbell (St Helens, Blackbrook)

Jake Moore (Wigan Warriors, Wath Brow Hornets)

James Brown (Castleford Tigers, Castleford Lock Lane)

Jordan Crowther (Wakefield Trinity Wildcats, Westgate Wolves)

Jordan Lane (Hull FC, West Hull)

Kameron Pearce Paul (London Broncos, Croydon Hurricanes)

Lewis Fairhurst (St Helens, Hindley)

Liam Cooper (St Helens, Blackbrook)

Liam Johnson (Huddersfield Giants, Newsome Panthers)

Max Jowitt (Wakefield Trinity Wildcats, Stanley Rangers)

Morgan Smith (Leeds Rhinos, Normanton Knights)

Reece Brunt (Warrington Wolves, Latchford Albion)

Roshane Johnson (London Broncos, Medway Dragons)

Ryan Haughton (Wigan Warriors, Blackbrook)

Ryan Ince (Widnes Vikings, Widnes Moorfield)

Sam Hallas (Leeds Rhinos, Stanningley)

Will Gledhill (Huddersfield Giants, Wakefield Westgate)


Nathan Clarke

Media Executive

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

League Express - Every Monday

Rugby League World - Jan 2018

Rugby League Books On Sale Here