Sign in to follow this  
Blackpool Hawk

Championship to run with top eight play-offs

Recommended Posts

The newly-expanded 14-team Championship will run with a top eight play-off system, akin to Super League, while two clubs will be relegated to Championship 1 at the end of the season.

Four teams - Doncaster, Barrow, Workington and Whitehaven - were promoted to the Championship following the addition of three new teams - Hemel, Gloucestershire and Oxford - to Championship 1.

In the top division, the top eight will progress to the play-offs, which will follow the same format as Super League, with the winners of the Grand Final claiming a £50,000 prize.

The bottom two teams in the Championship will be relegated, with the team finishing first in Championship 1 gaining automatic promotion.

The next five teams in the table - 2nd to 6th - will then battle it out in a play-off series, with the Grand Final winner earning the second promotion spot.

All clubs were notified of the structure of the 2013 season back in September.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

League Express - Every Monday

Rugby League World - Jan 2018

Rugby League Books On Sale Here