Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Auntie Linzi Morris

Law Query: Location of Penalty

15 posts in this topic

Whilst at the Warrington vs London match yesterday, conservation within our cold, bored and uninspired group turned to a couple of law queries.

Here's number one...

A Team A player is penalised for a high tackle on a Team B player right next to the touch-line.

This makes it virtually impossible for Team B to gain any ground from the kick to touch due to the proximity to the touch line.

Are Team B allowed to move infield to take the kick to touch - as I think would happen for a penalty if a player is dragged into touch?

(Not the resultant tap which is always on the 20m (?) line these days, but the initial kick to touch.)

And yes, that's how cold, boring and uninspiring it was.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Think everything is moved in 10m from touch tbh.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a similar query. Twice this weekend we got sixth-tackle-turnover possession inside our own 10-metre line. The play-the-ball was played where the last tackle was completed. I thought the ptb was always moved to the 10m line in such cases; is this not the rule?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a similar query. Twice this weekend we got sixth-tackle-turnover possession inside our own 10-metre line. The play-the-ball was played where the last tackle was completed. I thought the ptb was always moved to the 10m line in such cases; is this not the rule?

The PTB only moves to the 10m line when an attacker has been held up over the line.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The PTB only moves to the 10m line when an attacker has been held up over the line.

Cheers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Penalties in the field of play are taken where they were committed, or in the case of offside, where the player should have been (i.e. on the defensive line). Penalties near the touch line are no different. Penalties committed in the in-goal are moved to the 10m line.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Penalties in the field of play are taken where they were committed, or in the case of offside, where the player should have been (i.e. on the defensive line). Penalties near the touch line are no different. Penalties committed in the in-goal are moved to the 10m line.

Just to be clear, the mark for penalties is where they are committed or as you describe, but they can be taken anywhere behind it parallel with the touch lines, so a player cannot take the ball sidewards in-field to gain an advantage.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Of course, you can move a penalty mark back towards your own line, and the defenders have to stay on their original line (they can't advance to keep the 10m gap) unless the guy taking the penalty opts for goal, in which case he is making a new mark.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Of course, you can move a penalty mark back towards your own line, and the defenders have to stay on their original line (they can't advance to keep the 10m gap) unless the guy taking the penalty opts for goal, in which case he is making a new mark.

This is something that the players should learn - its frustrating to see a team within 10 metres of the line kicking the ball backwards to create space for their attack, when they can just retreat from the mark and keep the opposition on the line.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The PTB only moves to the 10m line when an attacker has been held up over the line.

or if the attacking team knock on

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whilst at the Warrington vs London match yesterday, conservation within our cold, bored and uninspired group turned to a couple of law queries.

Here's number one...

A Team A player is penalised for a high tackle on a Team B player right next to the touch-line.

This makes it virtually impossible for Team B to gain any ground from the kick to touch due to the proximity to the touch line.

Are Team B allowed to move infield to take the kick to touch - as I think would happen for a penalty if a player is dragged into touch?

(Not the resultant tap which is always on the 20m (?) line these days, but the initial kick to touch.)

And yes, that's how cold, boring and uninspiring it was.

No the kick/tap will be taken from where the penalty is awarded. You can go backwards in a direct line from there but not sideways. If you do kick to touch obviously the tap from that will move in field.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Eh ?

I think he's right if the attacking team knock on on the last 1m from the oppositions line it would be a handover on the ten. If it was on any other tackle it would be scrum on the ten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think he's right if the attacking team knock on on the last 1m from the oppositions line it would be a handover on the ten. If it was on any other tackle it would be scrum on the ten.

Ah - right.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think he's right if the attacking team knock on on the last 1m from the oppositions line it would be a handover on the ten. If it was on any other tackle it would be scrum on the ten.

Correct. Basically, if the handover comes after a team is tackled 6 times, the play-the-ball happens wherever in the field of play the last tackle occurred. If the handover comes after 5 tackles and a knock-on/forward pass (ie normally a scrum, but handover on the last), the play-the-ball is a minimum of 10 metres from the goal-line.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.



League Express - Mon 10th April 2017

Rugby League World - April 2017