Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Ex-Kirkholt

Catching The Ball From A Kick-Off

15 posts in this topic

During the Cas game yesterday, one of the Widnes players caught the ball from a kick-off with the officials saying that his foot was already out of play so it was, effectively, kicked dead and therefore a 25 tap to the defending side.

 

In my view, as he prepared to make the catch, he lifted one of his feet from inside the in-goal area, thus in play, and placed it "dead" at the same time as he caught the ball. To my eyes, the player took the ball dead and it should have been a drop-out.

 

If he had set his foot out of play clearly bfore catching the ball then I think it should have been a tap restart.

 

Anyone else see this or have a view on it ?  Is my understanding incorrect ?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

During the Cas game yesterday, one of the Widnes players caught the ball from a kick-off with the officials saying that his foot was already out of play so it was, effectively, kicked dead and therefore a 25 tap to the defending side.

 

In my view, as he prepared to make the catch, he lifted one of his feet from inside the in-goal area, thus in play, and placed it "dead" at the same time as he caught the ball. To my eyes, the player took the ball dead and it should have been a drop-out.

 

If he had set his foot out of play clearly bfore catching the ball then I think it should have been a tap restart.

 

Anyone else see this or have a view on it ?  Is my understanding incorrect ?

I thought they should have had a look at it tbh. I think it was very close as to whether his foot was in the air as he touched it as you say, but even Sky didn;t focus too much on it so I assumed I was wrong.

 

If he caught it with his foot dead, then the decision was right. I assume simultaneous is touch. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't think he got his foot down in time, but couldn't be bothered rewinding to check

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought he could have taken it dead but with every replay they showed, the score box blocked the exact view (or seemed to).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ex-kirkolt showing age there.....at least it was metric!

 

Aye, he is getting on a bit!  :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Personally, I hate the rule. IMO the game should aim to reward skill and if you can kick a ball 54m, landing it just inside the dead ball line, you have got to credit the kick, not give an advantage to the player making a catch with his foot trailing behind him.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Personally, I hate the rule. IMO the game should aim to reward skill and if you can kick a ball 54m, landing it just inside the dead ball line, you have got to credit the kick, not give an advantage to the player making a catch with his foot trailing behind him.

It isn't good skill though the player kicking the ball also knows about this rule so kicking it 54m is too far.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It isn't good skill though the player kicking the ball also knows about this rule so kicking it 54m is too far.

correct. i thought that at the time when Clarke was moaning about it. Kick it one metre shorter - then its a great kick.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.



Rugby League World - April 2017

League Express - Mon 10th April 2017