Sign in to follow this  
Honor James

Greek Rugby League holds historic awards night

Recommended Posts

Giorgin Shyti has been awarded the Player of the Year trophy by the Hellenic Federation of Rugby League, at a ceremony in Athens to commemorate the completion of their inaugural domestic season.

The event, presented by players Philippos Kastrinos and George Paliogiannis, was attended by over 100 guests, together with the Deputy Mayor for Sports for the municipality of Nikaea-Rendis (Pireaus), Mr Nikolakis and club presidents.  HFRL President, Tasos Pantazidis, outlined planned growth for the competition for the next two years, which will see an expansion to the domestic championship and a development programme for junior and youth players.

The board of Directors of the Federation made the following awards:
Player of the Year 2013: Giorgin Shyti
Team spirit: George-James Stilianos
Coach of the Year: Matthew–Alan Ashill
Referee of the Year: Konstantinos Fytas
Player most improved: Konstantinos Asprogerakas
Award for the decisive contibution to the establishment of the Hellenic Rugby League: Anastasios Pantazidis
Champions 2013: Promitheas Rendi
9’s Cup winners: Rhodes Knights

And those domestic players who took part in the ground-breaking, international win over Hungary, namely: Iordanis Bilikaidis, Giorgin Shyti, George-James Stilianos, Kostantinos Lambrakis, Panagiotis Karefilis, Dimitrios Minadakis, Ioannis Nake and Mihalis Chatziioannou, were given special presentations.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

League Express - Every Monday

Rugby League World - Jan 2018

Rugby League Books On Sale Here