This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


East Midlands Rugby League

5 posts in this topic

Do any forum members know where I can find any information on results/league tables for the old EMARLA leaguefrom1986 onwards?


Help in identifying any scores, tables, photos would be much appreciated, particularly info regarding Nottingham Crusaders and/or Bulwell.


Information is currently being compiled into a commemorative brochure to celebrate 30 years of RL in Nottingham and to help raise funds for the Nottingham Outlaws new ground/clubhouse.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

86-87 Mansfield & Notts 1st Clowne, 2nd Leicester, 3rd Garibaldi, 4th Rotherham, 5th Nottingham. Cup final at Shirebrook - Clowne 21 Garibaldi 22.

87-88 1st Leicester, 2nd Biddulph, 3rd Clowne, 4th Goldthorpe, 5th Garibaldi, 6th Nottingham, 7th Rotherham, 8th Peterborough. Cup final at Leicester - Clowne 18 Garibaldi 24.

88-89 (Garibaldi joined the Yorkshire League this season) 1st Clowne Angels, 2nd Nottingham Crusaders, 3rd Peterborough, 4th Hexthorpe Barrons, 5th Leicester, 6th Sheffield & Kimberworth, 7th Garibaldi 'A', 8th Clowne, 9th Goldthorpe 'A'. Cup final - Garibaldi 28 Nottingham Crusaders 12. Premiership final - Clowne Angels 32 Nottingham Crusaders 24.


A gap in my records then I have:


1993/94 (the Mansfield and Nottingham league was renamed East Midlands League; around this time Clowne joined the Yorkshire League and Garibaldi dropped down)

League: 1st Nottingham Crusaders, 2nd Garibaldi, 3rd Peterborough, 4th Leicester, 5th Northampton Knights, 6th Bulwell, 7th Shirebrook, 8th Derby City (Moorlands YOI expelled for ill discipline)

Conference: Bulwell A, Clowne A, Telford All Blacks, Garibaldi A, Nottingham Crusaders A, Derby City A


1994/95 (the league absorbed the Mercian League which was a remnant of the MASWARLA; Garibaldi returned to the Yorkshire League and Northampton Knights joined the National Conference League for a year and a half!)

League: 1st West Midlands Police, 2nd Nottingham Crusaders, 3rd Bulwell Panthers, 4th Leicester, 5th Northampton Knights A, Peterborough

Conference: RAF Digby, Clowne A, Telford All Blacks, Derby City, Birmingham


1995/96 (Nottingham Crusaders and Bulwell joined the Yorkshire League): 1st Clowne A, 2nd Birmingham, 3rd West Midlands Police, 4th Bulwell A, 5th Derby City, 6th Garibaldi A, 7th Nottingham Crusaders A, 8th Leicester


1996/97 and 1997/98 I don't know but somewhere around that time Bulwell folded


1998/99 (also Nottingham Crusaders' last season in the Yorkshire League; Garibaldi lasted a little longer and Clowne had just folded): 1st Derby City Also rans (no particular order as I don't have one): Birmingham Bulls, Garibaldi A, Nottingham Crusaders A, Toyota-Ilkeston


The league folded after this season and then new club Nottingham Outlaws and Derby City joined the RLC where Derby City already had a team

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Bowes, that's brilliant!

We will use the above information to fill in the "gaps" for the heritage brochure.

Much appreciated

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

FWIF 85-86 had the following teams (I don't have a table): Langwith Gate, Garibaldi, Clowne, Trent Polytechnic, Loughborough College, Anglia Polytechnic

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

Rugby League World - June 2017

League Express - Mon 17th July 2017