Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

burnleywelsh

A question for any refs out there.

4 posts in this topic

In the North West Men's League, at games where there is no touch judges, there is the option of advancing the ball 10 metres at infringements. My understanding of this is that it replicates the kick to touch and the tap is taken 10m from where the penalty occurs. At a recent fixture the referee allowed the player to rush forward 10m and take a quick tap, therefore the defending side could not touch the ball carrier for 20m from the point of infringement.

My understanding of the rule is that a quick tap can be taken at the point of the offence or the ball is advanced 10m and the defence would have time to retreat as per a kick to touch. A couple of tries were scored off the back of this referees interpretation. At the end of the day it didn't affect the final result but another day it could have.

I might be being a bit thick here, but hopefully someone out there might educate me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The "taking of 10" is a local rule usually used where if they kick for touch they will lose the ball in gardens etc

We were always advised that if taking 10 it should be done in a controlled manner I.e. Ball to ref who advanced the 10 metres and got the line set etc but this isn't in any laws or rules more a case of common sense

Hope this helps

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The "taking of 10" is a local rule usually used where if they kick for touch they will lose the ball in gardens etc

We were always advised that if taking 10 it should be done in a controlled manner I.e. Ball to ref who advanced the 10 metres and got the line set etc but this isn't in any laws or rules more a case of common sense

Hope this helps

Thanks, "common sense" being the key !!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Where it is done instead if a kick to touch the ball advances 10 but is also taken 10 in from touch as if it had been kicked into touch. Therefore you couldn't just walk forward 10 and tap it. Sounds like it wasn't an interpretation issue, the ref just got it wrong!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.



Rugby League World - June 2017

League Express - Mon 17th July 2017