Sign in to follow this  
deluded pom?

Lahanis Win Fifth National Title

Recommended Posts


The Goroka Lahanis have won their first Papua New Guinea National Rugby League title since 2011 after defeating the Enga Mioks 10 – 6 in a tightly contested Digicel Cup Grand Final at the National Football Stadium in Port Moresby.

The Mioks, who finished the season as Minor Premiers, went into Sunday’s Grand Final as favourites over a Lahanis side which only just scraped into the top five Finals Series, however as per previous weeks, the Goroka based Lahanis defence held strong for the opening quarter.

Finally the Mioks crossed in the 30th minute through Paul Wawa to give Enga a 6 – 0 lead before Brendon Nima crossed for the Lahanis just before halftime to make the score 6 – 4 at the change of ends.

Mark Tony would score the only try of the second half to hand the Eastern Highlands based Lahanis a 10 – 6 win in front of a capacity crowd.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

League Express - Online Now

League Express - Every Monday

Rugby League World - Get It Online

Rugby League World - Issue 455 - Out Now