Jump to content

Rugby League World Cup 2017 Official Tour Packages
League Express
Rugby League World
League Express

- - - - -

Championship to run with top eight play-offs

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Blackpool Hawk

Blackpool Hawk
  • Coach
  • 5,588 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:30 PM

The newly-expanded 14-team Championship will run with a top eight play-off system, akin to Super League, while two clubs will be relegated to Championship 1 at the end of the season.

Four teams - Doncaster, Barrow, Workington and Whitehaven - were promoted to the Championship following the addition of three new teams - Hemel, Gloucestershire and Oxford - to Championship 1.

In the top division, the top eight will progress to the play-offs, which will follow the same format as Super League, with the winners of the Grand Final claiming a £50,000 prize.

The bottom two teams in the Championship will be relegated, with the team finishing first in Championship 1 gaining automatic promotion.

The next five teams in the table - 2nd to 6th - will then battle it out in a play-off series, with the Grand Final winner earning the second promotion spot.

All clubs were notified of the structure of the 2013 season back in September.

"Nihil sine Deo" "We've Swept The Seas Before Boys, & So We Shall Again" "More than a club"

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users