Cycling - From couch to 390km

Help.

A very good friend is organising 3 days of charity hell; which i drunkenly said i'd 100% do...

The challenge, is to cycle the 2 stages of the grand depart in 3 days. In August. The charity is for a local hospice - a great cause and one very close to my idiot mate's heart. 

So, baring in mind that i am complete novice and the thought of riding a bike on a road is very scary, i now have a lot of questions;

1. Can you hire / loan (get free from somewhere) road bikes? 

2. How difficult is ~80 miles per day?

3. Any good links to training resources?

4. What do you do about the scary trucks?

Many thanks in trembling anticipation.

Lance.

Running the Rob Burrow marathon to raise money for the My Name'5 Doddie foundation:

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/ben-dyas

This is, apparently, the Cycling Proficiency Qualification of the 21st century: https://bikeability.dft.gov.uk/

Try this quickie online test, too, just to see where you're at: http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/greater-manchester-news/quiz-could-you-pass-cycling-7315073

80-odd miles per day is a lot, especially for a beginner, even on flat roads.

Failing that, just wobble about screaming obscenities at anyone who blocks your God-given pavement.

Let me never fall into the vulgar mistake of dreaming that I am persecuted whenever I am contradicted.
Ralph Waldo Emerson

I've done Bikeability and I have to say it was blinking useful.  It was offered free by the local council (Southwark or Lambeth, I forget which) as part of the Boris Bikes sign-up.  There may still be deals out there for it because in terms of getting you to at least understand *why* you should be where you should be on the road (even if it doesn't give you the confidence to go there) it's second to none.