Super League Europe new articles of association

Super League Europe has filed new articles of association with Companies House: https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/03238540/filing-history?page=1

Can't see a lot different from the last ones (although I'm no expert) but there are changes to share capital, ie they appear to have removed the 50 £1 Ordinary Share issue limit and inserted a clause about new share classes. Maybe an investment in SLE is on the cards?

There's also something about allowing the new RL Commercial firm to use Super League clubs' IP.

No changes to formats. The rules still say there has to be P&R, including a 2nd last SL vs 2nd Championship playoff if they went to 14 clubs. 

5 hours ago, Man of Kent said:

Super League Europe has filed new articles of association with Companies House: https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/03238540/filing-history?page=1

Can't see a lot different from the last ones (although I'm no expert) but there are changes to share capital, ie they appear to have removed the 50 £1 Ordinary Share issue limit and inserted a clause about new share classes. Maybe an investment in SLE is on the cards?

There's also something about allowing the new RL Commercial firm to use Super League clubs' IP.

No changes to formats. The rules still say there has to be P&R, including a 2nd last SL vs 2nd Championship playoff if they went to 14 clubs. 

That would be great, top / bottom go up and down automatically and 2nd play 13th in the million pound (or more likely now ten grand) game. 

• Like 1

I will say I am no financial law expert, but surely for the SL to go to 14 clubs it would mean either a reduction in central funding or some mechanism to increase it.

Now there are a number of ways that is possible, most controversial (ie a levy on gate income) or long term (increase gate income through higher attendances) or lastly outside investment.