2018 Man of Steel Nominations

Last night, the three-man shortlist for the Steve Prescott Man of Steel award was announced with two St Helens players, Ben Barba and James Roby, and John Bateman of Wigan Warriors all in the running to win the award which is currently held by Luke Gale.

Chosen by a poll of every Super League player, the winner will be presented with the award in Manchester on Monday, October 8th.

Meanwhile, the nominees for the Young Player of the Year were also announced: Castleford Tigers’ Jake Trueman, Matty Lees of St Helens and Jack Walker of Leeds Rhinos. In order to qualify, players had to be under the age of 21.