Australia name four debutants for ANZAC Test

Australian coach Tim Sheens has selected four debutants in his squad for the Anzac Test against New Zealand in Brisbane on Friday.

The squad also included Melbourne Storm fullback Billy Slater, who is carrying a shoulder injury and will play subject to a medical test later in the week.

The four debutants are Josh Dugan, Alex Johnston, Will Chambers and Trent Merrin.

Daly Cherry-Evans will be the 18th man, and Michael Jennings and Josh Papalii will accompany the squad.

“We have a lot of experience in this squad but it is also important to be able to test some of the younger players at this level,” said Sheens, who will be hoping to gain revenge for the Australians’ defeat by the Kiwis in last year’s Four Nations final.

“I’m looking forward to seeing how the likes of Alex Johnston, Josh Dugan and Will Chambers perform at this level, alongside our more experienced players like Greg Inglis, Johnathan Thurston and Cameron Smith.”

Australian Squad: Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm), Alex Johnston (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Will Chambers (Melbourne Storm), Josh Dugan (St George Illawarra Dragons), Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys), Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm), Matthew Scott (North Queensland Cowboys), Cameron Smith (c, Melbourne Storm), Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers), Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans), Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos), Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos); Substitutes: Luke Lewis (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Trent Merrin (St George Illawarra Dragons), Nate Myles (Gold Coast Titans), James Tamou (North Queensland Cowboys); 18th Man: Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Sea Eagles).