Broncos end Warriors’ unbeaten record

Brisbane Broncos registered a vital third win of the season today with a 27-18 victory over the previously unbeaten New Zealand Warriors at Mt Smart Stadium, bringing to an end the Warriors’ five-game winning streak.

The took an early lead after five minutes in when Corey Oates sliced ominously through the Warriors’ defence for a try converted by Jamayne Isaako.

The Warriors hit back, however, when a Blake Green kick secured a repeat set and a superb cut-out pass form Shaun Johnson put David Fusitu’a across the line, with Johnson levelling the scores with a conversion from the touchline on ten minutes.

​A Johnson penalty put the Warriors ahead 8-6 before Isaako kicked one to level the scores again on 20 minutes.

But then the Broncos created a superb try, when James Roberts burst through the Warriors’ defensive line and handed the ball on to Isaako to score in the corner. The winger couldn’t convert his own try, but he did add a penalty before the Warriors responded again when Green kicked a grubber towards the post, picking up the rebound to touch down, with Johnson levelling the scores at 14-14.

The Broncos took a one-point lead at the break, however, when Anthony Milford landed a field-goal just before the interval.

Early in the second half Jack Bird created a try for Jaydn Su’A and then they added a superb try with Isaako’s second as he dived in at the corner.

Johnson responded with a try with eight minutes remaining, but after missing the conversion the Warriors trailed 18-27 and that is how it ended.

The Warriors came out of the game with an ankle injury to Leivaha Pulu and a leg injury to Solomone Kata.

Warriors: 1 Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, 2 David Fusitu’a, 3 Peta Hiku, 4 Solomone Kata, 5 Ken Maumalo, 6 Blake Green, 7 Shaun Johnson, 15 Sam Lisone, 9 Issac Luke, 10 Agnatius Paasi, 11 Leivaha Pulu, 12 Tohu Harris, 13 Adam Blair; Interchange: 8 Bunty Afoa, 14 Jazz Tevaga, 16 Simon Mannering, 17 Anthony Gelling

Tries: Fusitu’a, Green, Johnson; Goals: Johnson 3

Broncos: 1 Darius Boyd (c), 2 Corey Oates, 3 James Roberts, 18 Tom Opacic, 5 Jamayne Isaako, 6 Anthony Milford, 4 Jack Bird, 8 Matthew Lodge, 9 Andrew McCullough, 14 Sam Thaiday, 11 Alex Glenn, 16 Korbin Sims, 13 Josh McGuire; Interchange: 10 Tevita Pangai jnr, 15 Joe Ofahengaue, 17 Jaydn Su’A, 20 Sam Tagataese

Tries: Oates, Isaako 2, Su’A; Goals: Isaako 5; Field Goal: Milford

Full match reports of all this weekend’s NRL games will feature in Monday’s League Express.