Dally M Medal: Thurston and Hayne named joint winners

North Queensland Cowboys stand-off Johnathan Thurston and Parramatta Eels full-back Jarryd Hayne have been named joint-winners of the prestigious Dally M Player of the Year Medal.

Never before has the NRL’s most prestigious award been shared. It’s the third time Thurston has won the accolade (something only Andrew Johns has accomplished) and the second time Hayne has pocketed the medal.

New South Wales star Hayne was also named full-back of the year and representative player of the year, while Thurston won the five-eighth of the year award and the Provan-Summons People’s Choice Award.

Meanwhile, Sam Burgess and James Graham were named in the team of the year.