Four living legends inducted into RL Hall of Fame

Four of Rugby League’s greatest ever players, Lewis Jones, Martin Offiah MBE, Garry Schofield OBE and Mick Sullivan, are to join the sport’s most exclusive and prestigious club, the Rugby League Hall of Fame.
They will be formally inducted into the Hall of Fame at a Rugby League World Cup Celebration Dinner at Huddersfield on Friday night when they will be welcomed by current Hall of Fame members Billy Boston MBE and Neil Fox MBE.
The four players take the total number of legends in the Rugby League Hall of Fame to 21 and are the first to join the game’s pantheon since 2005.
RFL Chief Executive Nigel Wood said: “It is my privilege and pleasure to welcome these four living legends of the game into the Rugby League Hall of Fame.
“Lewis, Martin, Garry and Mick are recognised as four of the greatest British sportsmen of the last century and it is right and proper that their considerable talents should be recognised in this way.
“All four played important roles for their countries in Rugby League World Cups and to be able to induct them into the Rugby League Hall of Fame at a time when the sport is in the midst of celebrating its most successful World Cup of all time makes it even more special.”
Membership of the Rugby League Hall of Fame is restricted to players who had a record of outstanding achievement at the highest level of the game and who have made a lasting contribution to the sport. They are also deemed to have a reputation that transcends the era in which they played.
The four new inductees were identified by a specially-convened selection panel comprised of experienced journalists, broadcasters and administrators. The inductions will take place as part of a dinner organised in association with RL Cares, Huddersfield Heritage and the Men of League Foundation.
RL Cares Chairman Terry Flanagan said: “We are honoured to have this opportunity to host  the Rugby League Hall of Fame inductions at a dinner which celebrates the sport’s history and international heritage.
“The four players represented the sport, their clubs and their countries with pride and passion throughout their careers and have come to stand for many of the values the Rugby League family holds dear.”
The 21 members of the Hall of Fame are Eric Ashton MBE, Billy Batten, Brian Bevan, Billy Boston MBE, Douglas Clarke MM, Neil Fox MBE, Ellery Hanley, MBE. Martin Hodgson, Lewis Jones, Vince Karalius, Roger Millward MBE, Alex Murphy OBE, Martin Offiah MBE, Jonty Parkin, Gus Risman, Albert Rosenfeld, Garry Schofield, Mick Sullivan, Jim Sullivan, Tom Van Vollenhoven, Harold Wagstaff.