Home Nations to battle for World Cup qualification in end of season tournament

Scotland, Ireland, Wales and France will compete in the European Championships at the end of the year, with a place in the 2021 World Cup up for grabs.

As revealed in League Express last month, the four clubs will face off in a round robin competition at the end of the year, with the top two teams automatically qualifying for the World Cup.

The games will be played in a number of locations, with TotalRL understanding Lezignan will host one match.

The nations finishing third and fourth will face Italy, the two top teams from Euro B (featuring Russia, Serbia and Spain) and winners of Euro C (comprising six nations) in a competition in October/November 2019, comprising of two pools.

The top two from the three-team pools will make the 2021 finals, meaning seven European countries will be represented in 2021.

October 26-28
France v Wales
Ireland v Scotland

November 2-4
Scotland v Wales
Ireland v France

November 9-11
Wales v Ireland
France v Scotland