Inglis, Smith and Cronk to start as Australia name squad

Australia have named their squad to face New Zealand in Saturday’s Four Nations opener – and despite their injury problems it still looks extremely strong.

Indeed, even without the likes of Johnathan Thurston, Paul Gallen, Jarryd Hayne, Billy Slater, Brett Morris, Josh Morris, and Andrew Fifita, they are still odds-on favourites to win the tournament.

Australia’s squad to face New Zealand
1 Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
2 Josh Mansour (Penrith Panthers)
3 Michael Jennings (Sydney Roosters)
4 Dylan Walker (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
5 Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters)
6 Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Sea Eagles)
7 Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)
8 Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)
9 Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
10 Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos)
11 Beau Scott (Newcastle Knights)
12 Ryan Hoffman (Melbourne Storm)
13 Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans)
14 Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers)
15 Aidan Guerra (Sydney Roosters)
16 Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders)
17 Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos)