Leeds Rhinos issue much-changed 2019 squad numbers – with big move for JJB

Leeds have issued their 2019 squad numbers – with some big changes confirmed by the club, including a new number for stalwart Jamie Jones-Buchanan, and confirmation of who will take Ryan Hall’s position as the Rhinos’ number five.

Jones-Buchanan has traditionally worn the number 11 shirt for Leeds during his impeccable career with the club, but in his 20th season for the Rhinos next year, he will take on the number 20 shirt.

Elsewhere, youngster Ash Handley becomes Leeds’ new number five, the first time the Rhinos have had to hand that shirt to a new player for years in light of Hall’s long-serving career with the club. He has departed for NRL side Sydney Roosters, meaning Handley – instead of fellow winger Luke Briscoe – receives the shirt.

New signings Konrad Hurrell, Tui Lolohea and Trent Merrin take numbers four, six and eleven respectively – while Jack Walker’s progress as the club’s first-choice fullback has been recognised by him taking on the number one jersey. That means Ashton Golding takes the number 21 shirt. Interestingly, Leeds have opted to leave the number 25 shirt blank.

Leeds Rhinos’ 2019 squad numbers: 1 Jack Walker, 2 Tom Briscoe, 3 Kallum Watkins, 4 Konrad Hurrell, 5 Ash Handley, 6 Tui Lolohea, 7 Richie Myler, 8 Adam Cuthbertson, 9 Matt Parcell, 10 Brad Singleton, 11 Trent Merrin, 12 Carl Ablett , 13 Stevie Ward, 14 Brad Dwyer, 15 Liam Sutcliffe, 16 Brett Ferres, 17 Dom Crosby, 18 Nathaniel Peteru, 19 Mikolaj Oledzki, 20 Jamie Jones-Buchanan, 21 Ashton Golding, 22 Cameron Smith, 23 Callum McLelland, 24 Luke Briscoe, 25 vacant, 26 Anthony Mullally, 27 Jack Ormondroyd, 28 Josh Walters, 29 Harry Newman, 30 Alex Sutcliffe, 31 Dan Waite-Pullan, 32 Thomas Holroyd, 33 Owen Trout, 34 Corey Johnson, 35 Tyler Dupree.