Melbourne wins a thriller

The Melbourne Storm have won a thrilling match against the Sydney Roosters 17-16, courtesy of a last second field goal from Cooper Cronk.

The Storm held a 16-10 lead with just 4 minutes remaining in the game when Daniel Tupou crossed out wide to reduce the lead to 2. James Maloney then kicked a magnificent goal from the sideline to level the scores with just 3 minutes to play.

The Storm managed to get themselves into prime position for a field goal, but Cronk’s attempt was charged down with just 2 minutes remaining. Luckily for the Storm, they regathered the ball and the tackle count restarted. A second attempt by Cronk saw the one pointer travel between the posts to seal their third straight win and the third straight loss for the Roosters.

Storm: 1. Cameron Munster; 2. Mahe Fonua, 3. Will Chambers, 4. Kurt Mann, 5. Marika Koroibete; 6. Blake Green, 7. Cooper Cronk; 8. Jesse Bromwich, 9. Cameron Smith (c), 10. Jordan McLean, 11. Kevin Proctor, 12. Tohu Harris, 13. Dale Finucane.

14. Ryan Hinchcliffe, 15. Tim Glasby, 16. Dayne Weston, 17. Felise Kaufusi

Tries: Koroibete (15), Kaufusi (39), Chambers (74)

Goals: Smith 2/3

Field Goals: Cronk (79)

Roosters: 1. Roger Tuivasa-Sheck; 2. Daniel Tupou, 3. Michael Jennings, 4. Shaun Kenny-Dowall, 5. Nene Macdonald; 6. James Maloney, 7. Mitchell Pearce (c); 8. Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, 9. Jake Friend, 10. Dylan Napa, 11. Boyd Cordner, 12. Mitchell Aubusson, 13. Siosiua Taukeiaho.

15. Issac Liu, 16. Kane Evans, 17. Lagi Setu, 18. Willie Manu

Tries: Aubusson (20), Tupou (78)

Goals: Maloney 4/4

Rugby Leaguer & League Express Men of the Match:

Storm: Cooper Cronk

Roosters: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck