Men of League organisation reveal Magnificent 7 list

As part of the NRL’s annual Heritage Round, Australian rugby league’s `Men of League’ foundation has revealed the seven names that comprise their ‘Magnificent 7’.

After extensive voting from experts and fans – almost 2,400 votes were cast to decide the ‘Magnificent 7′ – the men have been rated the seven best No.7s in Australia’s television era.

Tim Sheens and Wayne Bennett were part of the expert panel that initially selected 14 names for the whole game to choose from.  And with the likes of Stacey Jones and Brett Kimmorley missing out on the final seven, what an illustrious final seven the wider vote has produced.

“It is my privilege to acknowledge each of these players as one of the `Magnificent 7 halfbacks’,” said Men of League chairman, Ron Coote.  “Their exemplary commitment to the game of rugby league – via their skill, dedication and flair – has, according to the rugby league public, counted each of them among the best on record since television broadcasting began, in 1961.

“It is my pleasure to have had the opportunity to watch these great players play.  Their ranking as one of the Men of League’s Magnificent 7, is testament to the ability each had to lead their team in a pivotal role on the field, and provide the rugby league community with both inspiration and entertainment.

“On behalf of the board of the Men of League, I congratulate these seven Magnificent men, on their brilliant careers, and on receiving this worthy recognition of their contribution to the game.


Andrew Johns, Allan Langer, Steve Mortimer, Tommy Raudonikis, Billy Smith, Peter Sterling, Johnathan Thurston.