A minute’s applause for Harry



THE 2016 Harry Jepson Trophy gets underway on Saturday, with seven leading sides from around the country taking part writes Oliver Roby.

Following the death of Harry Jepson OBE on Monday, a minute’s applause will be held prior to each of the quarter-final fixtures.

North East champions Jarrow Vikings host Midlands side Northampton Demons, Midlands champions Coventry Dragons play East RL big guns Bedford Tigers, and Hemel Stags A clash with the champions of London, Wests Warriors.

South West champions Cornish Rebels have received a bye into the final four after Swindon St George conceded.

Fixtures (all Saturday 3 September with a scheduled 2.30pm start)

Jarrow Vikings v Northampton Demons

Hemel Stags A v Wests Warriors

Coventry Dragons v Bedford Tigers

Cornish Rebels – bye

Elsewhere, the North West Men’s League hosts a triple-header at Victoria Park in Warrington (WA4 1DG).


The NWML Shield, Trophy and Cup Finals will all take place from 11.00am, with entry to the games just £2 for adults and £1 for concessions.

Eccleston Lions face Orrell St James A in the Shield Final, which kicks off at 11.00am, before Leigh Miners Rangers A take on Halton Farnworth Hornets in the Trophy Final, getting underway at 1.00pm.

Then, at 3.00pm, the day’s headline act sees Thatto Heath Crusaders A go head-to-head with Ashton Bears for the right to take home the NWML Cup.

Admission is £2.00 (£1 concessions).