Player of the year shortlist announced

The shortlist for one of Rugby League’s most prestigious awards, the 2013 International Player of the Year, has been announced.

On it sits a Scot, a Kiwi and an Australian – Huddersfield Giants star Danny Brough, Sydney Roosters powerhouse Sonny Bill Williams, and South Sydney’s skilful Greg Inglis.

Man of Steel Brough was instrumental in Huddersfield Giants’ first table-topping season since 1932 and also helped guide Scotland to the quarter-finals of the World Cup.

Inglis has played an integral role in the successes of South Sydney Rabbitohs, Queensland’s State of Origin side, and the Australian World Cup team.

Williams, meanwhile, made a spectacular return to Rugby League with Sydney Roosters in 2013 following five years in rugby union and boxing. He was the Roosters’ star player as they won both the NRL Minor Premiership and Grand Final, and has been a massive figure for the Kiwis during their world title defence during RLWC2013.
The full shortlist is as follows:

Player of the Year

Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants and Scotland)
Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs and Australia)
Sonny Bill Williams (Sydney Roosters and New Zealand)

Rookie of the Year

George Burgess (South Sydney and England)
Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters and Australia)
Anthony Milford (Canberra Raiders and Samoa)

Coach of the Year

Michael Maguire (South Sydney Rabbitohs)
Trent Robinson (Sydney Roosters)
Shaun Wane (Wigan Warriors)

Referee of the Year

Ben Cummins (Australia)
Shayne Hayne (Australia)
Richard Silverwood (England)