RFL announce ‘Back to the Game’ round for 2015

As part of its celebrations to commemorate the 120th anniversary of Rugby League, the Rugby Football League have announced that teams in all competitions will take part in a ‘Back to the Game’ round later this year.

The details of when the round will take place have not been confirmed yet, but it has been announced by the RFL that a detailed round for clubs in all competitions will take place.

Other aspects of the celebration include:

Founders Walk

Details of how people can become involved in the Founders Walk in July will be announced in due course.  A full itinerary of the walk will also be confirmed in the next few weeks.

Wembley statue

The Wembley statue depicts five of the game’s great player whose heroics were deemed to be inextricably linked to Wembley Stadium following an exhaustive consultation process involving fans, current players, former players, coaches, the media and MPs. The five players are Martin Offiah MBE, Gus Risman, Alex Murphy OBE, Eric Ashton and Billy Boston MBE.

The artwork, created by East Yorkshire-based sculptor Stephen Winterburn, will be unveiled on the Wembley concourse on the morning of the 2015 Ladbrokes Challenge Cup final, Saturday August 29.

Hall of Fame

The Rugby League Hall of Fame currently features 23 players who have a record of outstanding achievement at the highest level of the game and who have made a last contribution to the sport.  They are also deemed to have a reputation that transcends the era in which they played and must be retired for 10 years or more before being considered for induction.

The 23 members of the Hall of Fame are Eric Ashton MBE, Billy Batten, Brian Bevan, Billy Boston MBE, Douglas Clarke MM, Neil Fox MBE, Ellery Hanley, MBE. Martin Hodgson, Willie Horne, Lewis Jones, Vince Karalius, Roger Millward MBE, Alex Murphy OBE, Martin Offiah MBE, Jonty Parkin, Malcolm Reilly OBE, Gus Risman, Albert Rosenfeld, Garry Schofield OBE, Mick Sullivan, Jim Sullivan, Tom Van Vollenhoven, Harold Wagstaff.