Sean O’Loughlin wins Wigan player of the year award

Wigan captain Sean O’Loughlin has been voted player of the year at the club’s end-of-season awards dinner.

It caps off a great week for the 31-year-old, who signed a new three-year contract last week and has been named England skipper for the forthcoming Four Nations competition.

Matty Smith picked up the coaches’ player of the year award, while impressive winger Joe Burgess was named young player of the year.

England centre Dan Sarginson won the try of the year award for his four-pointer against St Helens on Good Friday, while O’Loughlin was awarded tackle of the year for a big hit on Catalan Dragons’ Olivier Elima in round seven.

Anthony Gelling picked up the community award for his charity work, while
Jamie Doran was named Under 19s player of the year.