St Helens release 2019 squad numbers – with one or two surprises

St Helens have released their 2019 squad numbers for the Super League season – with their new signings receiving an interesting selection of numbers.

Kevin Naiqama, who has joined the Saints from NRL side Wests Tigers, has been issued with the number three shirt vacated by Ryan Morgan following his departure to London Broncos.

That suggests he will become Justin Holbrook’s first-choice centre in 2019 – while fellow new recruit Lachlan Coote has taken the number 23 shirt worn by another Saints star who has now left the club in Ben Barba.

Joseph Paulo takes the number 12 shirt worn by Jon Wilkin, while Luke Thompson is promoted to 10 following a barnstorming season for both club and country in 2018. Kyle Amor drops down to 16. The Saints’ other new signing, Joe Batchelor, takes 25.

1. Jonny Lomax
2. Tommy Makinson
3. Kevin Naiqama
4. Mark Percival
5. Regan Grace
6. Theo Fages
7. Danny Richardson
8. Alex Walmsley
9. James Roby
10. Luke Thompson
11. Zeb Taia
12. Joseph Paulo
13. Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook
14. Luke Douglas
15. Morgan Knowles
16. Kyle Amor
17. Dominique Peyroux
18. Adam Swift
19. Matty Lees
20. Jack Ashworth
21. Aaron Smith
22. James Bentley
23. Lachlan Coote
24. Matty Costello
25. Joe Batchelor
26. Liam Cooper
27. Josh Eaves
28. Callum Hazzard
29. Jack Welsby
30. Josh Simm