Three more teams for NCL!

THE Kingstone Press National Conference League is to be expanded from 47 to 50 sides in 2019.

Existing clubs will be asked to vote at next week’s Delegates’ Meeting on the new applicants that have been given the thumbs-up by the Management Committee.

The Rugby Football League’s Competitions Officer (Community) Alan Smith told clubs last night by email: “There have been nine applications to join next season, all clubs have been visited and several meetings have taken place where the merits of each have been discussed.

“The Management (has) decided to increase the number of clubs in the NCL for 2019 to 50, which is an increase of three from the 47 clubs which finished the season, with the Premier Division, Division One and Two having twelve teams, and Division Three having 14 teams.”

He continued: “The discussion then took place to decide which of the applicants would be recommended to enter the NCL next season. The three clubs that are to be voted on by the clubs are Hensingham, Batley Boys and Heworth.

“The other six clubs, of which there were some very strong applications, are East Hull, Cutsyke, Nottingham Outlaws, Distington, All Golds and Walney Central.

“If anyone has any comments on the applicants or the process involved in this please email them to me and they will be answered at the meeting on Monday.”

Smith concluded: “Please note that because of a date in the Challenge Cup round three all leagues will now start on Saturday 2 March, my apologies for this change to the one previously stated.

“We hope to have confirmation of the number of NCL entrants in the Challenge Cup on Monday.”