Ukraine, Wales, Ireland and Scotland name squads for U19 European Championships

Late entrants Ukraine, who have taken the place of Russia, are determined to make the most of their reprieve after initially losing out to Italy in the qualifying game. “This is an historic event for Ukrainian rugby players. We are grateful to the organizers for the opportunity to take part,” said U19s head coach, Igor Yurkin.
Anton Bolshakov, Daniel Cervinsky, Evgeny Chernykh, Denis Mayorov, Vitaly Puchkov, Anton Pyatnitsky, Andrei Shelepovsky, Kirill Usik (RK, Rivne), Nikita Ivchenko (Legion XIII, Kharkov), Vladimir Brodovsky, Danylo Gapon, Oleg Kuninets, Bogdan Matsyuk, Alexander Petrenko, Maxim Shvets (Sokol, Lviv), Vladislav Rudov, Dmitry Vasilishin (Burevestnik, Khmelnytsky) Lubomyr Beznoschuk, Vladislav Osipov (Stanislaviv, Ivano-Frankivsk), Vitaly Kovach, Alexander Moroz (Zakarp)

New Welsh U19s head coach, Anthony Walker, acknowledged it was a step into the unknown. “We are travelling to Serbia with a squad that we feel can be competitive and in contention for winning the competition,” he said.
Adam Young (Aber Valley Wolves), Cobi Green (Bradford Bulls), James Bartlett, Jake Cannon, Benjamin Hunter, Morgan Rowlands (Cardiff Blue Dragons), William Lynch (Leigh Miners Rangers), Cai Ellis, James McGurk (Newcastle Thunder), Jacob Hitchcox (North Wales Crusaders), Finlay Swift (Pilkington Recs), Elliot Jenkins (Rochdale Hornets), Matthew Jones, William Mills (Salford Red Devils), Lewis Hall (Warrington Wolves), Macauley Harris, Ellis Simon, James Smith, Fraser Stroud, Aneurin Walker (West Wales Raiders), Billy Glover (Widnes Vikings)

Ireland head coach, Wayne Kelly said, “Working with these lads for the last six months has been a real pleasure and tells me that Rugby League Ireland is in a good place going forward. Leading into the Euro’s everyone has a positive mentality and knows their role.”
Sam Cullen, Ryan Curran, Fiach Millward, Conor Smyth (Athy Sharks), James Cromie, Paul McGookin (Belfast Stags), Josh Basthill, Gareth Gardiner, Andrew Smyth (Belfast Met Scholars), Charlie Donnelly (Dublin City Exiles), Jack O’Sullivan (Eastern Rhinos), Sam O’Sullivan, John Why (Galway Tribesmen), Joe Togher (Hindley), Luke Findlow (Ince Rose Bridge), Shalun Carey, Josh MacNamee, Ronan Michael, James Mulvaney, Kevin Varga (Longhorns RL), Zack Fellows (Midland Hurricanes), Jordan McKibbin (Portadown Pumas), Callum O’Neill (Widnes Vikings)

Scotland international and U19 head coach, Danny Addy, is delighted with his young Bravehearts squad, containing six players from Edinburgh Eagles. “We can’t wait to get to Belgrade,” he noted. “We’ve got a really mixed squad, a few lads from Super League Academies, and it’s great to have a healthy number from the Scotland domestic game.”
Elliot Campbell (Barrow Island), Liam Punton (Bradford Bulls), Frankie Armstrong, Timmy Kennedy, Jamie McCabe, Sean McKervail, Gregor Mitchell, Alex Williams (Edinburgh Eagles), Daniel May (Halifax Elite Rugby Academy), Clem Harrison (London Skolars), Charlie Emslie, Connor Terrill (Millom RLFC), Callum Kennedy, Chris Paterson (Newcastle Thunder), Fergus Simpson (Newcastle Thunder/Edinburgh Eagles), Jack McMillan (Queensbury ARLFC), Euan Caldwell, Connall McDonagh (Strathmore Silverbacks), Archie Andrade, Iain Oakley (Wakefield Trinity), Adam Hay (Wallsend Eagles)


Ukraine v Wales (kick off 15.30)
Ireland v Scotland
Serbia v England
France v Italy