World Club Challenge squads revealed

Sydney Roosters have named 15 of the 17 men who won last year’s NRL Grand Final for this weekend’s World Club Challenge against Wigan.

Only Luke O’Donnell (retired) and Kiwi winger Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, who is still carrying a leg injury sustained at the World Cup, are missing out.

Wigan are also near full strength thanks to the return of England internationals Sean O’Loughlin (hamstring) and Josh Charnley (hernia) from injury. However, they are without promising youngster Sam Powell, who picked up an ankle injury against New Zealand Warriors.

The Roosters say they are expecting a crowd of 30,000 for the game.

2014 World Club Challenge squads

Sydney Roosters
1 Anthony Minichiello
2 Daniel Tupou
3 Michael Jennings
4 Mitchell Aubusson
5 Shaun Kenny-Dowall
6 James Maloney
7 Mitchell Pearce
8 Jared Waerea-Hargreaves
9 Jake Friend
10 Sam Moa
11 Boyd Cordner
12 Sonny Bill Williams
13 Frank-Paul Nuuausala
14 Daniel Mortimer
15 Aidan Guerra
16 Dylan Napa
17 Remi Casty
18 Kane Evans
19 Taane Milne
20 Kurt Kara

Wigan Warriors
25 John Bateman
1 Matt Bowen
32 Joe Burgess
2 Josh Charnley
24 Tony Clubb
17 Dominic Crosby
16 Gil Dudson
12 Liam Farrell
10 Ben Flower
5 Anthony Gelling
3 Darrell Goulding
6 Blake Green
14 Jack Hughes
9 Michael McIlorum
13 Sean O’Loughlin
22 Eddy Pettybourne
23 Dan Sarginson
7 Matty Smith
8 Scott Taylor

Want more Rugby League news and features? Subscribe to the online version of League Express newspaper and Rugby League World magazine. You can also connect with Total Rugby League on the social media platform of your choice.