Dragonhearts gobble up Devon cream



WALES DRAGONHEARTS breached the half-century in Sunday’s fixture at Merthyr Tydfil, as Ian Golden reports.

The Dragonhearts – selected from the amateur game in Wales – recovered from 6-4 down to post a 54-6 victory in the first Rugby League match at the Wern, the new home of South Wales Ironmen.

Devon threatened to poop the party when Jack Carlisle crossed in response to Matt Davies’ opener, Ben Spear adding the extras.

But the Dragonhearts, who are preparing for a tour of Germany later this month, had much the better of subsequent exchanges.

Ben Swift, Daf Phillips and Rhys Davies crossed before half-time, Bradley Williams adding a couple of conversions for a 20-6 lead, and the procession continued on the resumption.

Johnny Rae, Matt Davies, Ross Price, Curtis Ford and Craig Lewis nipped over before the hour, and a long-range solo effort by Kieron Hooper brought up the half-century, Aaron Lewis landing his fifth goal.

DRAGONHEARTS: Louis Ford (West Wales Raiders), Jamie Marsh (Valley Cougars), Josh Taylor (West Wales Raiders), Sam Baker (Torfaen Tigers), Mathew Davies (West Wales Raiders), Curtis Ford (West Wales Raiders), Bradley Williams (Cardiff City), Louis Pengelly (C) (Torfaen Tigers), Kieron Hooper (Bridgend Blue Bulls), Rhys Davies (Valley Cougars), Jonny Rae (Chester Gladiators), Craig Lewis (Valley Cougars), Aaron Lewis (West Wales Raiders). Subs: Scott Giles (Valley Cougars), Daf Phillips (West Wales Raiders), Ross Price (Valley Cougars), Ben Swift (West Wales Raiders), Yousif Sulliman (Valley Cougars).

DEVON: Luke Wilson (Devon Sharks), Jack Sweeney (Devon Sharks), Oliver Hill © (Devon Sharks), Alex Stephens (Devon Sharks), Ben Spear (Devon Sharks), Tom Plance (Bath & Wiltshire Romans), Josh Mackin (Devon Sharks), Jamie Grant (Somerset Vikings), Kye Munslow (Devon Sharks), Jack Carlisle (Devon Sharks), Marcus Phillips (Devon Sharks), Stef Richards (Exeter Centurions), Joseph Briggs (Devon Sharks). Subs: Will Sanders (Devon Sharks), Dan Alker (Exeter Centurions), Rory Smith (Exeter Centurions), Phil Johnson (Devon Sharks).

Referee: Jon Ellis