Five League 1 clubs await their fate

A decision on who will become the Championship’s 14th club is set to be revealed this week.

Five clubs: Barrow, Doncaster, Newcastle, Rochdale and Workington, will discover their fate on Thursday.

A five man-man panel, chaired by Dean Andrew OBE, will determine the winner.

Also on the panel are four RFL officials; its Chief Commercial Officer, Mark Foster, the Director of Insight & Customer, Alison O’Brien, RFL Chief On Field Officer, Dave Rotherham and the Chief Operating Officer, Tony Sutton.

A spot will be vacant in the Championship as a result of one club from the second-tier being promoted to Super League, a decision that is due to be made on Wednesday, December 16th.

League 1 clubs lodged their applications last Wednesday.

All five clubs have expressed their optimism about being the successful candidate.

The above content is also available in the regular weekly edition of League Express, on newsstands every Monday in the UK and as a digital download. Click here for more details.