Giants reveal squad numbers for 2016

Ryan Hinchcliffe has been handed the number nine jersey ahead of his debut season at the Giants, whilst transfer-listed star Brett Ferres has kept his number 11 shirt.

Former Melbourne Storm star Hinchcliffe has taken the starting hooker shirt, while Luke Robinson will now wear number 23.

Elsewhere, Jamie Ellis’ fine form from last year has seen him take the number seven shirt, an upgrade from the number 20 jersey he played in last season.

The news that Ferres has kept his starting jersey will raise eyebrows amongst some just days after it was revealed that he had been transfer-listed. Oliver Roberts, the man tipped to replace Ferres, will wear number 22.

Speaking on the decision to give Hinchcliffe the number 9 shirt, head coach Paul Anderson said: “Ryan is here to play at 9 and whilst he has the ability to play a bit of 13 as well, he has mainly been brought over to play dummy half and stiffen us up around our middle and that’s why he has the number 9 shirt.

“We sat down with Robbo and he understood that Ryan would be given the number 9 shirt. When we talked he requested that if he was out of the 13 regarding shirt numbers, then could he have the number 23 shirt. It was the first number he had when he started his career at Wigan so it’s a historic number for Robbo and one he has some familiarity with.”

Huddersfield’s 2016 squad numbers:


  1. Scott Grix
  2. Jermaine McGillvary
  3. Leroy Cudjoe
  4. Joe Wardle
  5. Aaron Murphy
  6. Danny Brough
  7. Jamie Ellis
  8. Eorl Crabtree
  9. Ryan Hinchcliffe
  10. Craig Huby
  11. Brett Ferres
  12. Michael Lawrence
  13. Larne Patrick
  14. Daniel Smith
  15. Kyle Wood
  16. Sam Rapira
  17. Ukuma Ta’ai
  18. Jake Connor
  19. Josh Johnson
  20. Kruise Leeming
  21. Nathan Mason
  22. Ollie Roberts
  23. Luke Robinson
  24. Jared Simpson
  25. Tyler Dickinson
  26. Liam Johnson
  27. Mikey Wood
  28. Jake Wardle