Maroons name large squad for Origin II

Queensland have named a 22-man squad for the second State of Origin test as several of their biggest names battle to regain fitness.

Coach Mal Meninga is giving Greg Inglis (ankle), Billy Slater (shoulder) and Daly Cherry-Evans (knee) as much time as possible to prove their fitness but has drafted in Anthony Milford, Will Chambers, Willie Tonga, Ben Hunt and Jacob Lillyman as cover. Kangaroos international Sam Thaiday also returns after shrugging off a calf injury while Cooper Cronk misses out with a broken arm.

Queensland Rugby League chairman Peter Betros said: “We normally announce 19 players but tonight because of the uncertainty over several players we’re going to announce 22 players. As the week goes on and the injury situation becomes clearer, Mal (Meninga) will finalise the team and get it down to the required number.”

New South Wales won the first test in thrilling fashion and a win in Origin II, which takes place at the ANZ Stadium on June 18, would bring an end to a run of eight consecutive Maroon series victories.

Queensland squad: Darius Boyd, Will Chambers, Daly Cherry-Evans, Matt Gillett, Aidan Guerra, Justin Hodges, Ben Hunt, Greg Inglis, Jacob Lillyman, Chris McQueen, Anthony Milford, Nate Myles, Josh Papalii, Corey Parker, Matt Scott, Billy Slater, Cameron Smith, Brent Tate, Ben Te’o, Sam Thaiday, Johnathan Thurston, Willie Tonga.

Want more Rugby League news and features? Subscribe to the online version of League Express newspaper and Rugby League World magazine. You can also connect with Total Rugby League on the social media platform of your choice.