Melbourne and Brisbane to open NRL in 2019

The NRL’s 2018 runners-up Melbourne Storm will open the season down under at AAMI Park against Brisbane Broncos on Thursday 14th March.

Meanwhile, the Premiers Sydney Roosters have to wait until the following evening when they play South Sydney Rabbitohs in their opening clash of the season.

The rest of the opening round is as follows:

Newcastle Knights v Cronulla Sharks
New Zealand Warriors v Canterbury Bulldogs
Wests Tigers v Manly Sea Eagles
North Queensland Cowboys v St George Illawarra Dragons
Penrith Panthers v Parramatta Eels
Gold Coast Titans v Canberra Raiders

Meanwhile the NRL’s “Magic Weekend” will take place in round 9 from May 9th through to May 12th with all the games being played at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane.

Brisbane are in fact the away team in that round as Manly Sea Eagles play host to the Broncos at Suncorp.