NRL sides to play in World Club Series revealed

NRL champions North Queensland, runners-up Brisbane and the Sydney Roosters are understood to be the three Australian teams competing in next year’s World Club Series.

The two Grand Finalists and the minor premiers are automatically invited per the NRL’s rules, and the Australian media has reported that all three teams have accepted their invitations.

Johnathan Thurston’s Cowboys will go up against the winners of this weekend’s Grand Final in the World Club Challenge – which is the main event of the series – whilst the Broncos and the Roosters will face the Grand Final loser and another Super League team – which understands will be St Helens.

“It will be a tremendous start to the season,” Roosters chief executive Brian Canavan told the Daily Telegraph (via Fox Sports).

“The players get together and live with each other. It’s a group setting which is great for the players and the club. And it’s a great promotion for the club.”