South Sydney Rabbitohs win NRL Grand Final

43 years of hurt have finally been ended for South Sydney Rabbitohs, after they won their first NRL Grand Final since 1971 by defeating Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 30-6 to ensure Sam Burgess leaves Rugby League as a winner.

Burgess suffered a potential fractured cheekbone in the first tackle of the game, but continued to play a role for his side until the very last whistle, rounding off one of the greatest performances in an NRL Grand Final.

Souths were simply too dominant for the Bulldogs, with brothers George and Tom also dominant to ensure James Graham suffered another NRL Grand Final loss.

Alex Johnston scored the only try of the first half, but Tony Williams leveled matters up shortly after the break. From then on though, it was the Souths show – with George Burgess scoring an incredible solo try to put Souths back in front. Kirisome Auva’a scored another to ensure it would be Souths’ day

Adam Reynolds then rounded off the win by scoring three minutes from time, before a trademark try from Greg Inglis ensured a first NRL success for over 40 years, and spark incredibly emotional scenes at the end.

Souths even gave Burgess a chance to say farewell by kicking the conversion following Inglis’ try, rounding off a superb Rugby League career.