Warrington name squad for Super League opener

Warrington Wolves coach Tony Smith has named his first 19-man squad of the season for Thursday night’s clash with St Helens, which will be played at the Halliwell-Jones stadium at 8pm.

It is one of the juiciest prospects of the opening round and both sides will be looking to hit the ground running.

Accordingly, the Wolves line up almost at full strength, the only absentees being first-choice full-back and Scotland international Matty Russell, who has an ankle problem, and loose forward Simon Grix.

Here is the 19-man squad in full. We were sent the list in alphabetical order, but I have arranged it into what Smith is most likely to select, based on pre-season friendlies.

6 Stefan Ratchford
2 Chris Riley
3 Chris Bridge
4 Ryan Atkins
5 Joel Monaghan
14 Michael Monaghan
7 Richie Myler
8 Chris Hill
9 Micky Higham
10 Roy Asotasi
11 Trent Waterhouse
12 Ben Westwood
17 Ben Currie
22 Brad Dwyer
19 Anthony England
25 Ben Evans
23 James Laithwaite
20 Gareth O’Brien
21 Glenn Riley

Want more Rugby League news and features? Subscribe to the online version of League Express newspaper and Rugby League World magazine. You can also connect with Total Rugby League on the social media platform of your choice.