York complete Cuthbertson coup

York City Knights have signed Super League Grand Final winner Adam Cuthbertson.

The Aussie forward will join the Knights on a one-year deal from Leeds Rhinos after featuring for the West Yorkshire side in two Grand Final victories in 2015 and 2017.

As well as playing for Manly, Cronulla, St George and Newcastle in the NRL, he was Head Coach of the successful Rhinos women’s side who won two Challenge Cups and a Grand Final under his tutelage.

“I feel Adam will make a significant impact on our preparations and culture, as well as our on-field performances,” Knights Head Coach, James Ford, said.

“He gives us added leadership and experience, but also a different dimension to our attack with his offload game. I was impressed with Adam’s drive to be the best version of himself, his humility and I’m excited to work with him.

“We should acknowledge the efforts and loyalty of our supporters and sponsors who have enabled us to add Adam to our squad for 2021.”

The move was enabled by a sizeable donation from the club’s Squadbuilder fund and it sees Cuthbertson join plenty of other big names at the Knights next year with the likes of Ryan Atkins also competing in the Championship next year with York.

“Every one of these teams that I’ve played in has been built around a really great culture and I’m sure, from listening to Fordy, that’s there’s already a great culture here and it’s a case of now working on it to go win more games and, potentially, lift some trophies,” Cuthbertson said.

“I just like to compete. Anyone who has watched me in the past probably thinks I’m a bit erratic but it’s just that I love the purity of the game and playing what I see.

“I really like to compete and challenge myself and my own teammates.”

This move capped off another huge week of recruitment for the club after James Green along with Joe Porter, Myles Harrison and AJ Towse all signed new deals with the club while Toby Warren was announced as a York player on a community dual-registration deal with Heworth ARLFC.