World Cup set to break records

First published in League Express, Monday 21st Oct 2013 The World Cup begins on Saturday and already it looks to be a record-breaking tournament in…

Continue Reading

Chickens coming home to roost

First published in League Express, Monday 14th Oct 2013 This column on 22 July this year, just less than three months ago, carried the headline…

Continue Reading

Who should run Super League?

First published in League Express, Monday 7th Oct 2013 The RFL will hold an extraordinary general meeting on Wednesday to debate the proposed new structure…

Continue Reading

Will Sam crack the NRL?

First published in League Express, Monday 30th Sept 2013 The news that the New Zealand Warriors have signed Sam Tomkins on a three-year contract was…

Continue Reading

What a week for Danny Brough!

First published in League Express, Monday 23rd Sept 2013 Danny Brough has had an outstanding season in leading the Giants to the League Leaders’ Shield,…

Continue Reading

Brough to collect Goldthorpe Medal, as Man of Steel looms

First published in League Express, Monday 16th Sept 2013 Huddersfield Giants star Danny Brough will collect the Albert Goldthorpe Medal in a ceremony hosted by…

Continue Reading

Painting the town red

First published in League Express, Monday 9th Sept 2013 I’ve never been to a Rugby League media conference quite like the one that was held…

Continue Reading

A week that belongs to the Giants, Rovers and Crusaders

First published in League Express, Monday 2nd Sept 2013 When we get into September the temperature begins to drop. But not as far as Rugby…

Continue Reading

Thank you for coming

First published in League Express, Monday 26th Aug 2013 “Thank you for coming,” said the big screens at Wembley Stadium as the crowd began to…

Continue Reading

Generous Cup Final odds?

First published in League Express, Monday 19th Aug 2013 The bookmakers are not taking a great deal of notice of the form book when it…

Continue Reading