Jump to content

21-man squad to face Leeds

Warriors News

Recommended Posts

  • Adrian Lam has named Wigan’s 21-man squad to play Leeds in the Betfred Super League on Sunday.
  • The Warriors return to action after last weekend’s opening restart win over Wakefield.
  • Wigan Warriors vs Leeds Rhinos, Sunday 16th August, 6:30pm kick off. 

Adrian Lam has named the Wigan Warriors 21-man squad to face Leeds Rhinos this Sunday (16th August) at the Totally Wicked Stadium, St Helens, 6:30pm kick off.

The Cherry and Whites return to Betfred Super League action this weekend after last Sunday’s opening restart win over Wakefield Trinity.

Fans can watch the game either on the Sky Sports Arena channel or via the RFL’s OurLeague app.

Team news

Tommy Leuluai will miss Sunday’s game with an ankle injury – suffered in the tenth minute against Wakefield last weekend.

Boss Lam said: “Tommy rolled his ankle – we could have played on with him but with it being the first game back we didn’t want to risk it.”

R045_1069-1024x943.jpgLeuluai will miss Sunday’s game.

George Burgess, who also featured against Wakefield, is banned after being hit with a one-match suspension for a Grade A Dangerous Contact offence on David Fifita.

After dropping out of last week’s 21-man squad due to a hamstring injury – picked up in training prior to the game – Sean O’Loughlin is also ruled out.

Youngsters Jack Wells, Joe Shorrocks and Amir Bourouh are the three players to come in to the squad this week.

Meanwhile, Ben Flower, who has served his two-match ban for Grade C Dangerous Contact against Hull KR in Round 6, is not named in the 21 as he recovers from a back injury.

Ollie Partington also misses out after receiving a four-match ban for Grade D Dangerous Contact in the same game in early March. 

Prop Tony Clubb is ruled out with a neck injury. “He has a bulging vertebrae in his neck, he’s had an issue in the past and it’s flared up,” Lam said.

Centre Oliver Gildart will also miss out as he continues his recovery from a dislocated shoulder sustained last Autumn on Great Britain’s tour of New Zealand.

21-man squad to face Leeds


1. Zak Hardaker
2. Liam Marshall
3. Chris Hankinson
5. Joe Burgess
6. Bevan French
9. Sam Powell
11. Willie Isa
12. Liam Farrell
15. Joe Greenwood
16. Morgan Smithies
19. Joe Bullock
20. Liam Byrne
21. Dom Manfredi
22. Mitch Clark
23. Jake Bibby
28. Harry Smith
29. Jack Wells
30. Ethan Havard
31. Jackson Hastings
32. Amir Bourouh
33. Joe Shorrocks

Join Lotto nowSupport our Academy by becoming a Lotto member

Can you chip in just £1 per week to support our Academy? Join Lotto now and that’s where all the proceeds go… once we’ve paid out some huge weekly prizes! Click here to find out more…

The post 21-man squad to face Leeds appeared first on Wigan Warriors Blog.

View the full article

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.