Jump to content

Rugby League World Issue 400 - Out Now!

84 pages, 38 years of history from Open Rugby to the present day.
Click here for the digital edition to read online via smartphone, tablet and desktop devices including iPhone, iPad, Android & Kindle HD.
Click here to order a copy for delivery by post. Annual subscriptions also available worldwide.
Find out what's inside Issue 400
/ View a Gallery of all 400 covers / WH Smith Branches stocking Issue 400
Read Jamie Jones-Buchanan's Top 5 RLW Interviews including Marwan Koukash, Lee Briers, Gareth Thomas, Steve Ganson & Matt King OBE

League Express



Member Since 12 Nov 2007
Offline Last Active Yesterday, 05:05 PM

Posts I've Made

In Topic: New structure to usher in exciting new era for Rugby League

26 July 2014 - 01:38 PM

I found the following article quite interesting. It was sent to me by somebody in an e-mail. Clicking on the link should work.


I know it's on an Australian Website but nevertheless I think it's worth a read.

totally disagree with this waffle

In Topic: New structure to usher in exciting new era for Rugby League

24 July 2014 - 06:29 PM

Can someone understand this, only the RFL could come up with something so complicated.

Full details of the exciting new league structure that will come into operation in 2015 for Rugby League’s professional and semi-professional competitions have been outlined today.

From next season the First Utility Super League and Kingstone Press Championship will both feature 12 clubs, whilst Kingstone Press Championship One will be renamed as Kingstone Press League 1 and comprise 14 clubs.

RFL Chief Executive Nigel Wood said: “The changes will ensure that every minute of every match in every competition matters and are being implemented following the most comprehensive consultation process in the sport’s history.

“The return of promotion and relegation in a format that is financially sustainable for all clubs should ensure fans are entertained from February to October, with an exciting season punctuated by a series of world-class events commencing with the World Club Challenge and finishing at Old Trafford with the Super League Grand Final.”

Super League and Championship clubs will each play 23 matches in the regular season – home and away against the other clubs in their respective competitions plus Magic Weekend or Summer Bash.

At the end of the regular season, Super League and the Championship will split into the Super 8s, three groups of eight clubs based on league positions called Super League, The Qualifiers and Championship Shield.

Super League features the top eight Super League clubs; The Qualifiers comprises Super League clubs nine to 12 plus the top four Championship clubs; and the Championship Shield features Championship clubs five to 12.

The Super 8s will be played on a seven match mini-league basis, and will largely determine the make-up of Super League and the Championship the following season.

In Super League, all eight clubs are guaranteed top flight status for the following year whilst the top four will contest a play-off series - 1st v 4th and 2nd v 3rd, with the winner going through to the title-deciding Grand Final.

In The Qualifiers, the top three clubs after seven matches will play in Super League the following season with the final place determined by the Million Pound Game, a play-off between the clubs finishing 4th and 5th. The loser of the match will join the three remaining clubs from The Qualifiers and six Championship Shield clubs in the Championship the following season.

In the Championship Shield, the top four clubs with contest a play-off series with the winners contesting the Championship Shield final. The bottom two teams in the Championship Shield will be relegated to League 1.

The 14 League 1 clubs will each play 22 games – 11 home and 11 away, playing each other once and nine teams twice with fixtures scheduled on a geographical basis. At the end of the regular season 1st will place 2nd with the winner promoted to the Championship as champions. The loser of that match will join the teams that finished 3rd, 4th and 5th in a play-off to determine the second promotion spot.

The 14 League 1 clubs will also be joined by the 2014 National Conference League Grand Final winners and the 2014 RFL Conference Challenge Cup winners in a new knockout competition played at the start of the season.

To allow for the changes to the league structure, the top eight Super League clubs will join the Challenge Cup at the sixth round stage, with League 1 clubs entering at Round 3, Championship clubs at Round 4 and the bottom four Super League clubs at Round 5.

Full details of the new league structure and what it means for all clubs can be found on the RFL, First Utility Super League and Kingstone Press Championship websites by following the links below:

straight forward richie 

In Topic: 2014 Rugby League Tipping Competition

23 July 2014 - 09:32 PM

Round 25 Fixtures


1. Hull V Castleford  18-24


2. Salford V Leeds  24-18


3. St Helens V Widnes  32-16


4. London Broncos V Hull K.R.  12-32


5. Bradford V Wigan  18-28


6. Huddersfield V Catalans  28-24


7. Warrington V Wakefield  36-18joker


8. Sheffield V Batley  18-22


9. North Wales V Workington  28-24


10. Dewsbury V Barrow  32-16


11. Keighley V Doncaster  28-20


12. Rochdale V Leigh  12-32


13. Swinton V Halifax  18-24


14. Whitehaven V Featherstone  24-28



15. Gateshead V Oxford  12-24


16. Oldham V Hunslet  20-24


17. South Wales V London Skolars  26-18


1st Barrow Tryscorer V Dewsbury:grant


Don't forget your joker!!!

In Topic: 2014 Rugby League Tipping Competition

16 July 2014 - 08:00 PM

Round 24 Fixtures


1. Leeds V Castleford  28-24


2. Widnes V Warrington  12-36


3. Wigan V Hull  32-12


4. London Broncos V St Helens  6-66joker


5. Catalan V Wakefield  28-20


6. Leigh V Keighley  24-18


7. Huddersfield V Bradford  26-18


8. Hull K.R. V Salford  32-22


9. Barrow V Sheffield  12-28


10. Doncaster V Swinton  28-24


11. Featherstone V Batley  32-28


12. Halifax V Whitehaven  26-18


13. North Wales V Dewsbury  12-24


14. Workington V Rochdale  24-16


15. Gloucester V Gateshead  16-24


16. Hemel V South Wales  28-20


17. York V Oldham  32-24


1st Barrow tryscorer V Sheffield:  grant


Don't Forget Your Joker!!

In Topic: 2014 Rugby League Tipping Competition

07 July 2014 - 05:22 PM

Round 23 Fixtures


1. Queensland V New South Wales  24-18


2. Wakefield V Widnes  28-16


3. Castleford V Huddersfield  32-24


4. Leeds V Hull K.R.  28-24


5. St Helens V Bradford  28-18


6. Catalan V Wigan  24-32


7. Salford V Hull  26-16


8. Warrington V London Broncos  44-12joker


9. Batley V Halifax  28-24


10. Doncaster V Leigh  12-36


11. Keighley V Workington  16-24


12. Rochdale V Barrow  16-26


13. Sheffield V North Wales  28-20


14. Swinton V Featherstone  18-24


15. Whitehaven V Dewsbury  18-28


16. Hunslet V South Wales  26-16


17. London Skolars V Hemel  28-20


18. Oldham V Gloucester  32-26


19. Oxford V York  18-28


1st Barrow tryscorer V Rochdale grant


Don't Forget Your Joker!!!