Danny Brough wins Albert Goldthorpe Medal with a week to spare

Huddersfield Giants star Danny Brough has successfully retained the Albert Goldthorpe Medal, with one round of Super League fixtures still remaining.

Brough, who won the Albert Goldthorpe Medal in 2008 and 2013, and is the reigning Man of Steel, clinched the Medal when he was awarded three points for his performance in the Giants’ 38-28 victory against Hull FC at the John Smith’s Stadium.

Although he missed five conversion attempts, Brough was instrumental in plotting the Giants’ recovery from a 4-18 deficit early in the game.

Buy today’s League Express for more Rugby League news. Click here to download an issue straight to your digital device

Brough, with 33 points, now has an unassailable six-point lead over second placed Kevin Brown of Widnes Vikings.

At a special ceremony later this year Brough will be presented with the solid gold medal and a cheque to the value of £2,000.

Meanwhile Castleford Tigers have taken a lead in the Albert Goldthorpe Club Table, following their victory against neighbours Wakefield on Sunday.

They now have 102 points, one point ahead of both Wigan and St Helens.

Albert Goldthorpe Medal Tables 2014
Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants) 33
Kevin Brown (Widnes Vikings) 27
Travis Burns (Hull Kingston Rovers) 26
Daryl Clark (Castleford Tigers) 24
Leon Pryce (Catalan Dragons) 22
Morgan Escaré (Catalan Dragons) 21
Rangi Chase (Salford Red Devils) 20
Marc Sneyd (Castleford Tigers) 18
Matty Smith (Wigan Warriors) 17
Gareth Ellis (Hull FC) 16
Alex Walmsley (St Helens) 16

Castleford Tigers 102
St Helens 101
Wigan Warriors 101
Warrington Wolves 97
Huddersfield Giants 91
Catalan Dragons 87
Leeds Rhinos 85
Widnes Vikings 78
Hull KR 71
Hull FC 71
Salford Red Devils 71
Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 65
Bradford Bulls 52
London Broncos 20