Daryl Clark wins 2014 Steve Prescott Man of Steel Award

Castleford Tigers hooker Daryl Clark claimed an extraordinary double at the 2014 Steve Prescott Man of Steel Awards, winning the main prize, as well as the Young Player of the Year Award.

In what turned out to be a clean sweep for Castleford in the evening’s three main awards, Clark saw off competition from Jamie Peacock, James Roby and Chris Hill to claim the big one, which has been named after Steve Prescott for the very first time.

Clark beat Wigan’s Dan Sarginson and Leeds’ Liam Sutcliffe to earn his other award.

Clark’s coach, Daryl Powell, also picked up an award, earning the Coach of the Year gong after an exceptional season with the Tigers, finishing in the top four of Super League, as well as reaching the Challenge Cup Final.


Hitman Award: James Roby (St Helens)
Top Metre Maker: Matthew Russell (Warrington Wolves)
Top Try Scorer: Joel Monaghan (Warrington Wolves)
Top Gun Kicker: Luke Walsh (St Helens)

Outstanding Achievement For Retiring Players: Matt Diskin, Jon Clarke, Francis Meli, Willie Manu, David Hodgson, Richard Horne and Martin Gleeson

Super League Foundation of the Year: Warrington Wolves
Super League Club of the Year: Widnes Vikings

Mike Gregory Spirit of Rugby League Award: Terry Flanagan

Young Player of the Year: Daryl Clark (Castleford Tigers)
Coach of the Year: Daryl Powell (Castleford Tigers)

Steve Prescott Man of Steel 2014: Daryl Clark (Castleford Tigers)