England defeated by New Zealand in third Test

ENGLAND were unable to make it a series whitewash as New Zealand ran out comfortable 34-0 winners in the third Test at Elland Road.

Michael Maguire’s side notched six tries in front of a 32,186 crowd in Leeds.

England winger Tommy Makinson twice had scores disallowed.

The Kiwis powered into a fifth-minute lead with a try by Ken Maumalo, who forced his way through after a fine offload by captain Dallin Watene-Zelezniak.

After referee Gerard Sutton sent it upstairs, Phil Bentham gave that one the green light for Shaun Johnson to add the conversion.

But efforts by Makinson and England colleague Oliver Gildart and New Zealand’s Kevin Proctor were then ruled out.

Golden Boot winner and last week’s England hat-trick hero Makinson was deemed in touch while Jamayne Isaako was ruled to have put a foot out of play before passing to Proctor.

Then video referee Bentham decided Gildart had knocked on.

The Kiwis doubled their advantage on 33 minutes, when Issac Liu crossed and Johnson again converted.

And there was more punishment for England just before the break, as Kodi Nikorima went in and Johnson tagged on his third conversion of the afternoon for an 18-0 lead.

Hopes of a home fightback were hit by a fourth try from the tourists four minutes into he second half, when Maumalo scored his second.

New Zealand had second row Jared Waerea-Hargreaves sin binned for a 57th-minue flop, and as England tried to make their numerical advantage tell, Makinson again went in, only for Bentham to again decide he was in touch.

Wayne Bennet’s side were down to twelve after 69 minutes, when Jermaine McGillvary was yellow carded for holding down.

And the Kiwis ran in quickfire tries through Jesse Bromwich and Joseph Tapine, the first improved by Johnson, the second by Isaiah Papali’i.

England: Lomax, Makinson, Connor, Gildart, McGillvary, Williams, Myler, T Burgess, Hodgson, Graham, Bateman, Whitehead, Thompson. Subs: Milner, Hill, Greenwood, Ratchford.

New Zealand: Watene-Zelezniak, Maumalo, Marsters, Manu, Isaako, Johnson, Nikorima, J Bromwich, Smith, Waerea-Hargreaves, Proctor, Liu, Blair. Subs: K Bromwich, Ah Mau, Papali’i, Tapine.